Niagara Falls, Ontario, Niagara Falls, New York, Niagara Region & Niagara Frontier Museums: Local Interest Museums information, listings and links
Here are the musuems in the Niagara Falls, Ontario area:
Located in a former 1866 drug store, the museum fascinates its visitors with many unique walnut and butternut fixtures, crystal gasoliers and rare collection of apothecary glass.
Battle of Chippewa Battlefield
9233 Niagara Parkway (beside the Legends of he Niagara Golf Course)
Niagara Falls, ON
The Battle of Chippawa, on July 5th 1814, was the opening engagement of the Niagara campaign of 1814, the longest and bloodiest military operation of the War of 1812.The battle began when a British, Canadian and aboriginal force of about 2,000 men, under Major-General Phineas Riall, attacked an invading American army of about 3,500 men under Major-General Jacob Brown. The fighting lasted all day, and the attackers were soundly defeated. Three weeks later, however, the invaders were turned back at the bloody battle of Lundy's Lane, fought on 25 July 1814. This pristine battlefield is 121 hectares (300 acres) of farmland has Navy Island just offshore.
Niagara Parkway, just north of the Queenston-Lewiston Bridge
905-262-4759 or 905-468-6621, Fax 905-468-7681
Operated by Parks Canada
This 150 year old monument honours General Brock, who fought and died at the Battle of Queenston Heights, is actually Brock's fourth burial place. In 1824, the first limestone monument, 65 feet (19.8m) tall, was erected at Queenston Heights. It was damaged by saboteurs during the 1837 Rebeillion, and was replaced in 1856 by a 184 feet (56m) tall tower with a 235 step circular stairway to a small observation deck at the top. The monument is located on top of the Niagara Escarpment on the Niagara Parkway and you can climb the monument and get incredible views of the Niagara Peninsula, the town of Queenston, the vineyards and Lake Ontario. Admission by donation (recommended: $2 adults and $1 children)
Chateau Park Niagara Museum & Art Centre
Niagara Falls, ON L2E 3M5
Fort Erie Railroad Museum
Central Ave. near Gilmore Road, next to Oakes Park
Fort Erie, ON
Climb into the cab of CN No.6218 and sit where the engineers once commanded the mighty locomotive or wander amongst the other wonderful exhibits. The Ridgeway Station, c.1910, and the 1837 B-1 Station feature railroading exhibits and a reference library. Open daily May 20 to Labour Day Thanksgiving.
Admission to all three of Fort Erie's three civic museums is $2 per adult and $1 per child.
Fort Erie Historical Museum
402 Ridge Road
Fort Erie, ON
This 1874 former Town Hall is a historical site which feature a 4,000-year-old archaeology collection, with pottery and flint points dating back to the Genesee culture of 200 B.C.; part of the one million artifacts uncovered at the Peace Bridge site. The century-old Crystal Beach Amusement Park is brought back to life with photographs, memorabilia and video footage. An extensive genealogy and reference room includes 23 original watercolour paintings done by a soldier depicting the 1866 Battle of Ridgeway. The gift shop specializes in Fort Erie mementos. Open 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. daily from mid-June to Labour Day and weekdays the remainder of the year. Admission to all three of Fort Erie's three civic museums is $2 per adult and $1 per child.
Fort George - Parks Canada
Queen's Parade (Fort George)
Niagara-on-the-Lake L0S 1J0
905-468-4257, Fax: 905-468-7638
This British fort played a key role in the struggle for the Niagara Frontier during the War of 1812, and has been restored to its state on the eve of the war. The Americans invaded and destroyed the Fort in May 1813 and it was rebuilt in 1815, abandoned in 1828, and reconstructed in the1930s. Experience the sights, sounds, smells and tastes of a garrison in the early 19th century. Costumed staff recreate lifestyles and activities of the period, so you can watch soldiers perform drill or listen to the music of the fife and drum corps as both prepare for battle on the Niagara frontier.
5470 Victoria Avenue
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 3L2
The Krieghoff Gallery-Cafe is a unique cultural and educational setting combining the arts with a truly Canadian culinary experience. The art is the work of famous Canadian artist Cornelius Krieghoff (1815-1872).
Laura Secord Homestead
29 Queenston St,
Queenston, ON L0S 1J0
During the war of 1812, a brave farmwoman set out on a perilous journey to warn the British military of an impending American attack, and became part of the folklore of Niagara. Travel back in time to her lovingly restored homestead and be enchanted by authentically costumed guides. This tranquil location also offers Laura Secord fine chocolates, Nestle ice cream and other refreshments for your enjoyment
Open: daily mid-May to September. Adult $3.50, Child 6 to 12 $3.50, 5 & under Free
Lincoln & Welland Regiments Museum
Butler's Barracks National Historic Site
King St. & Mary St., with parking at John St
Niagara-on-the-Lake L0S 1J0
Mailing: 81 Lake St. St. Catharines, ON, L2R 5X3
Visit us at the historic Butler's Barracks in The Commons, to learn about this regiment that proudly fought on the war of 1812-1814, fought the Fenian Raids of the late 1860s, in the trenches of World War I and on the beaches and fields of Normandy during World War II. Open summers. Admission: Adults: $3.00, Children (6-14) & Seniors: $2.00, Veterans, serving members, and children under 6 free.
Lundy's Lane Historical Museum
5810 Ferry Street,
Niagara Falls, ON L2G 1S9
FREE PARKING behind the Museum at Sylvia Place
(905) 358-5082, Fax: (905) 358-0920
Housed in an 1874 two-storey limestone building which served as the Stamford Township Hall and is located on part of the battlefield of Lundy's Lane 1814. The Main Floor Gallery features displays on Native Canadians, pioneer life and settlement, the War of 1812 with emphasis on the Battle of Lundy's Lane, the Fenian Raid of 1866; early tourism and an early telephone switchboard. The Second Floor Gallery provides a setting for a Victorian parlor and an early kitchen, children's toys and a selection of Niagara Falls art and souvenir china. Open Jan-April: daily 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m; May - October: daily 10:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m; and November and December: Wednesday to Sunday - 12:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Marshville Heritage Village
Re-creating the Town of Wainfleet during the 1800's, this attraction features a school, a steam saw mill, a blacksmith shop, log cabin and many other buildings. The village showcases pioneer life in the Township of Wainfleet.
15927 Niagara Parkway
Niagara On The Lake, ON L0S 1J0
McFarland house has stood for two centuries as a monument to the impeccable manners, good taste and gracious living that epitomizes Niagara-on-the-Lake. Experience a taste of 1840's Georgian style and pace. Explore the period herb garden. Sample fine refreshments, home baking or sip a glass of Niagara wine at the McFarland Tea Garden. Open May to September. Admission: Adult $3.50, Child 6 to12 years $3.50, 5 & under Free.
Mildred Mahoney Dollhouse Gallery
Believed by most Fort Erie natives to be haunted, the museum is home to the fascinating miniature world of the dollhouse. Housing one of the world's largest collections of dollhouses in North America, there are 140 exhibits spanning two centuries and rare masterpieces from England, Europe, the Orient and North America Whether you visit for the miniature wonders or the building's historical and cultural significance, it will be a memorable visit.
Niagara Historical Society Museum
43 Castlereagh Street @ Davy Street
Niagara-on-the-Lake L0S 1J0
905-468-3912, Fax: 905-468-1728
Established in 1895, visit our permanent exhibitions of Niagara's history and the War of 1812 gallery. Check our website for more information and special exhibitions. Open daily May-October, 10 am-5:30 pm and November-April, 1-5 pm.
Old Fort Erie - Parks Canada
350 Lakeshore Rd.
Fort Erie, Ontario
1-877-NIA-PARK or (905)371-0254
Fort Erie saw considerable action in the War of 1812 including the capture of two American ships, the 'Ohio' and the 'Somers'. Fort Erie plays an integral role in presenting Canada's history to visitors from around the world in its capacity as a museum, living history site and memorial park. The Fort was reconstructed in 1938. See the impressive The 3 foot thick Curtain Wall, the iron-studded Outer Gate, the ditch with a wooden trestle bridge, the 9 foot (3 metre) high log palisade and wooden spikes, and the outer redoubts where cannons were placed as a first line of defence. The monument marks the remains of 150 British and 3 American soldiers killed during fighting here in 1814. Admission: Adult $7.50, Child 6 to 12 years $4.50, 5 and under Free Open daily September 1 to mid-October 10:00am-4:00pm
corner of Queen and Dumfries Streets
Niagara Parks Commission
By appointment only.
George Neal, a devout Wesleyan Methodist and a Major in the British Army throughout the war of Independence, left the United States. He landed in Queenston in 1786, Major Neal who was the British Officer-in-Charge of the militia post in Queenston, used Bible classes to spread the Christian Gospel through the new land. This 1862 Wesleyan Methodist greeting house has a white clapboard exterior and gothic styled windows. In 1925 it became part of The United Church of Canada, underwent renovations in 1939, and moved to its present site in 1958. In 1997, the congregation of Queenston United Church decided to amalgamate with St. David's United church and this historic Church was generously donated to The Niagara Parks Commission.
It is currently available to rent for wedding ceremonies only. Times available for ceremonies: 9 am - 11 am, 12 pm- 2 pm, 3 pm - 5 pm, and 6 pm - 8 pm. Accommodates up to 100 people $300 + GST for a 2 hour time frame.
Ridgeway Battlefield Museum
Hwy. 3, east of Ridge Road in Battlefield Park
Fort Erie, ON
The quaint cabin was built in the early 1800s., stood amidst the Battle of Ridgeway during the 1866 Fenian Raids. Canada's Confederation followed one year later. The museum features re-enactment footage of the battle. Open weekends from mid-June to Labour Day, 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Admission to all three of Fort Erie's three civic museums is $2 per adult and $1 per child.
Welland Court House
102 East Main Street
This 1855 Palladian-styled structure was built using Queenston Limestone, and was the site of the last hanging in Canada. The front of this building is dominated by a monumental projecting portico surmounted by a classical pediment and is given character by four large Ionic columns. Recently completed renovations enable the Courthouse to continue to be a state of the art facility. Tours available in the summer.
Welland Historical Museum
140 King Street,
Welland Ontario L3B 3J3 905-732-2215
Museum documents the history of the industrial development of the City of Welland, including the history of the 4 versions of the Welland Canal and their impact on the City is featured. A special partnership between the Welland Historical Museum and the Niagara Children's Museum has provided the community with a place where children are encouraged to touch things and participate in interactive play. Open Tuesday to Saturday 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM
Willoughby Historical Museum
9935 Niagara Pkwy (at Weaver Rd), R.R. #3
Niagara Falls, ON, L2E 6S6
905-295-4036 fax: 905-295-4036
The museum is a former one-room red brick schoolhouse three miles south of Chippawa, Ontario. The Willoughby Historical Museum has two floors of exhibits, with artifacts from late 1700s early pioneer settlement right up to the 1960s.Treasures of the past are collected, preserved, researched, interpreted and exhibited for a learning experience enjoyable for both young and old. Open 12 p.m. - 5 p.m. from Victoria Day to June 30th on weekends, daily in July and August, and on weekends from Labour Day to Thanksgiving. Remainder of year by appointment.